LGBT+ History Month: Home
The 2024 theme celebrates LGBT+ peoples’ contribution to the field of Medicine and Healthcare both historically and today.
We want to showcase the amazing work of LGBT+ staff across the NHS and in other healthcare settings, in providing healthcare, especially during the pandemic. Whilst still shining a light on the history of the LGBT+ community’s experience of receiving healthcare which has been extremely complicated leaving LGBT+ people still facing health inequalities even today.
At a time when the LGBT+ community is experiencing a rise in hate crime and hate instances we also encourage you to look ‘Under the Scope’ and listen to LGBT+ peoples’ lived experiences from LGBT+ people
Have you seen the University's LGBT+ Toolkit?
The University has recently updated the LGBT+ Tool Kit so it now has loads of information on LGBT+ history, how to be an ally, podcasts, support, guidance and information, and much more...
LGBT+ 2024 Book Selection
Welcome to our 2024 book choices to celebrate LGBT+ History Month. These books are available to borrow from the Charles Seale-Hayne Library.
Rebel Bodies
An inclusive and empowering manifesto for change in women's healthcare - exploring the systemic and deep rooted sexism within medicine, and offering actionable ways for women to advocate for ourselves and others and get the diagnosis and treatment we need.
Ace Voices
Drawing upon interviews with a wide range of people across the asexual spectrum, Eris Young is here to take you on an empowering, enriching journey through the rich multitudes of asexual life.
With chapters spanning everything from dating, relationships and sex, to mental and emotional health, family, community and joy, the inspirational stories and personal experiences within these pages speak to aces living and loving in unique ways.
Bi the Way
Whether you are openly bisexual, still figuring things out or just interested in learning more about bisexuality, Bi the Way is your essential guide to understanding and embracing bisexuality.
Never a Girl, Always a Boy
In his mid-twenties, Jeremy Ivester began taking testosterone and had surgery to remove his breasts. This memoir is both Jeremy's and his family's coming out story, told from multiple perspectives-a story of acceptance in a world not quite ready to accept.
The Book of Non-Binary Joy
Whether you are at the start of your journey or have been on the wild ride of gender introspection for a long time, this guide is here to help you thrive as your authentic - and most fabulous - non-binary self. With personal stories, valuable insights and interactive sections, this inspiring book covers a wide range of topics, including mental health, pleasure, fashion, understanding your past, allyship privilege and self-expression.
Yes, You Are Trans Enough
This is the deeply personal and witty account of growing up as the kid who never fitted in. Transgender blogger Mia Violet reflects on her life and how at 26 she came to finally realise she was 'trans enough' to be transgender, after years of knowing she was different but without the language to understand why.
Becoming Eve
Abby Stein was raised in a Hasidic Jewish community in Brooklyn, isolated in a culture that lives according to the laws and practices of eighteenth-century Eastern Europe, speaking only Yiddish and Hebrew and shunning modern life. Stein was born as the first son in a dynastic rabbinical family, poised to become a leader of the next generation of Hasidic Jews.
Gaysia
Benjamin Law considers himself pretty lucky to live in Australia: he can hold his boyfriend's hand in public and lobby his politicians to recognize same-sex marriage. But as the child of immigrants, he's also curious about how different life might have been had he grown up in Asia. So he sets off to meet his fellow Gaysians.
Queer Livability
This book brings together an exciting new archive of queer and trans voices from the history of sexual sciences in the German-speaking world. A new language to express possibilities of gender and sexuality emerged at the turn of the twentieth century, from Sigmund Freud’s theories of homosexuality in Vienna to Magnus Hirschfeld’s “third sex” in Berlin. Together, they provided a language of sex and sexuality that is still recognizable today.
Kinsey Scale for the Emotionally Fragile Queer
The Kinsey Scale is an archaic measure of homosexuality on a scale of 0-6, thought up by Dr. Alfred Kinsey in 1948. It ranks queerness with 0 being completely heterosexual, 6 being fully homosexual, and 3 being a perfect split down the middle. But the world is ending, and modern queers are famously bad at numbers. ‘Kinsey Scale for the Emotionally Fragile Queer’ is a rewriting of the original scale, measured to fit the expansiveness of a generation of queers who have lived from apocalypse to apocalypse. In this Kinsey Scale, our lives are not represented by rigid numbers, but by poetry on queer love, happiness, protest, friendships, and the ability of queers to adapt to a changing world. Our rituals, our families, our romances, there is place for all of them in this tale of resilience and joy.
Before AIDS
The AIDS crisis of the 1980s looms large in recent histories of sexuality, medicine, and politics, and justly so-an unknown virus without a cure ravages an already persecuted minority, medical professionals are unprepared and sometimes unwilling to care for the sick, and a national health bureaucracy is slow to invest resources in finding a cure. Yet this widely accepted narrative, while accurate, creates the impression that the gay community lacked any capacity to address AIDS. In fact, as Katie Batza demonstrates in this path-breaking book, there was already a well-developed network of gay-health clinics in American cities when the epidemic struck, and these clinics served as the first responders to the disease.
Trans Health
Around the world trans and gender diverse people are marginalized and discriminated against in medical, psychological, and nursing care. This anthology is the first to address the current situation of this population in various global healthcare settings. The perspectives from 11 different countries give insight into the difficult experiences of the trans and gender diverse community when seeking healthcare, and how self-organized community structures can help to overcome barriers to often inaccessible public healthcare systems.
LGBT+ Reading List
A selection of LGBT+ authors from around the world, available to read in the Library
Click on a image to find the shelfmark number or click through to browse the LGBT Databases below
| LGBT Thought and Culture | LGBT Magazine Archive |
| This is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. | Archival runs of many of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. |
Art, Design & Photography
Mapplethorpe: Altars
Maggi Hambling: waves and waterfalls
Mapplethorpe: the Complete Flowers
A Writer's World
Lady Lisa Lyon
Posters by Maurice Sendak
Winding Paths
Keith Haring Journals
Queer British Art - 1867-1967
Autobiography & Memoir
Herculine Barbin
The Autobiography of a Transgender Scientist
Not Just a Tomboy
Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
Undivided
A War of Loves
Tomboy Survival Guide
To My Trans Sisters
Dancing Ledge
Zami: a new spelling of my name
Dress your family in corduroy and denim
Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?
Trans: a memoir
It Takes Blood and Guts
Fiction
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Drawing blood
Lost Souls
The house of impossible beauties
On the black hill
The Miseducation of Cameron Post
Babel 17
Strangers on a train
The Talented Mr Ripley
Of Drag Kings and the Wheel of Fate
Goodbye to Berlin
Family Dancing
Lot
Fiction - Classic and Modern
The Summer Book
Mr. Fortune’s maggot
Fingersmith
Tipping the Velvet
Lolly Willowes, or, The loving huntsman
Tender Buttons
Blood on the Dining-room floor
Fight Club
The Last Romeo
Another Country
Carol
The Well of Loneliness
Maurice
Nightwood
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Three Lives
A Room with a View
Howard's End
Poetry
Selected Poems
Your name here: poems
Collected poems
The world’s wife
Rapture
Jack Straw’s castle
The man with Night Sweats
Collected Poems
Your silence will not protect you
Film, Cinema, Plays & Criticism
The English Auden: poems, essays and dramatic writings
Up in the air: collected film scripts
Teen dreams: reading teen film from Heathers to Veronica Mars
Let’s explore diabetes with owls
The importance of being Earnest and other plays
Up against it: a screenplay for the Beatles
The Complete Plays of Joe Orton
The ascent of F6
Politics, Society and Education
Dispossession: the performative in the political
This Book is Gay
Queer theory: an introduction
At your own risk: a saint’s testament
Who Killed My Father
The persistent desire: a femme-butch reader
Sexual personae: art and decadence from Nefertiti to Emily Dickinson.
Gay and after
Down the Line
Democratic defence: a non-nuclear alternative
Europe in the pink: lesbian & gay equality in the new Europe
The Stonewall Reader
The Descent of Man
We Are Everywhere
Difficult Women: A History of Feminism in 11 Fights Book
Transgender Health: A Practitioner's Guide to Binary and Non-Binary Trans Patient Care
School Experience Collection
Moominvalley in November
The frog who dreamed she was an opera singer
Where the wild things are
Julian is a Mermaid
History
British Queer History: New Approaches and Perspectives Book