Skip to main content

Midwifery

A guide to support Midwifery students

Resources for Midwifery

How to find books in the library further information on how to find midwifery and health books in the Library 

Help with finding, accessing and using journal articles - further information on journals

Databases - guidance - find out what a database is

Here you can find links to the key databases to use for Health. These databases are indexes. Where we subscribe to the full text, you will be able to click through. They will also point you to any articles held in print on level 0 of the library. 

Search for journal articles

Links to databases which give you access to journal articles.

Evidence-based practice resources

Use these to search for systematic reviews and evidence based research

Search for statistics

Websites and databases which can give you statistical information

Anatomy and Physiology

E-learning

Pros:

  • Newspaper articles can be a useful source of information if you want to gauge public opinion or you want local information.
  • They are easy to read and aimed at the general public.

Cons:

  • Often factually incorrect.
  • Aimed at general public so will often be too shallow in coverage for academic purposes
  • Newspapers usually have a political bias and agenda.

So always verify information found in a newspaper article.  

Currently you can search back issues of newspapers, including local papers, through a database called Nexis Newspapers:

The library holds both DVDs and CDs which are kept on the shelves alongside the books. It also has a very small number of VHS tapes which can be viewed on dedicated VHS viewers on level 0 in the library. As well as these the library subscribes to a number of online audio-visual resources listed below:

Legal resources - guidance & support

Below are links to key legal databases which will be useful to use when looking at legal and ethical issues in midwifery practice.

Referencing systematic reviews from the Cochrane Library

Author, Initials. ‘Title of review’. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Year, Issue number, Article number. DOI: number.

e.g. Loveman, E., Royle, P. and Waugh, N. ‘Specialist nurses in diabetes mellitus’. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2003, Issue 2, Art. No. CD003286. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.

When you connect to the review on Wiley, there is a 'how to cite' feature which you can use and adapt for the Harvard style as above.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Referencing the PDFs on the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) database

Author (year) Evidence summary: Title. Available at: url. (Accessed: date)

e.g. Campbell, J. (2014) Evidence summary: Depression: vervain. Available at: http://ovidsp.tx.ovid.com/sp-3.14.0b/ovidweb.cgi?&S=ADGGFPGNDPDDFCCMNCLKKCIBOLFDAA00&Link+Set=S.sh.21%7c2%7csl_190 (Accessed: 10 February 2015)

Loading

New Health Books added to the Library this week