Geology: Finding journal articles
Key journal collections and specialist databases for literature searching
A note about Primo:
The links on this page come from Primo. Primo is the gateway to all the Library's resources: books, journals, specialist databases and other content types e.g. British Standards, Newspapers, Maps to name a few. The Primo Search is not recommended as a complete literature searching tool but it is the gateway to more specialist tools and also shows the library holdings of journal titles:
- Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Lyell Collection brings together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series for Geology & Earth Sciences. - Science Direct This link opens in a new window Journals published by Elsevier with a strong focus on scientific, technical and medical literature.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window Complete collection of ACS journals.
This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a journal indexing and abstracting database with citation metrics from Elsevier. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities (with a growing coverage of book chapters).
- This link opens in a new window
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Research database covering environment related disciplines. Many hits will be full text and the SFX button will check other hits for full text via Primo.
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this link for authenticated access to our subscribed resources. Remember that Scholar searches beyond PU resources and not all hits will be accessible.
Print journals
Most journals are electronic these days but there are a handful of print journals in the Library in the rolling shelves on Level 0.
How do I find articles in these journals?
Primo can tell you which years are available and where the journal is on the shelves but it cannot search inside the journal to identify useful articles (Primo can only search inside e-journals so bear this in mind when running your topic search on Primo).
Use the links and advice below to locate useful content inside the print journals:
- Geoscience in South West England (Primo holdings)Current issues can be read in the Library. Please note this journal ceased publication in 2018.
- Geoscience in South West England (backfile online)Free access to the journal except the latest 3 issues.
To search across all issues of the journal to identify which issue has a useful article on your topic:
- use a database (Scopus) which indexes all issues at abstract level up to 2016.
- use 'source title' in Scopus to search for the Geoscience South West articles
- search within these results on your topic
Then use the links above to locate the full text or print copy of your chosen article.