Skip to main content

Education

A guide to using the library resources for Education students

Resources for Education

SENCo Update has now changed to Optimus Education Insight Primary Edition and Secondary Edition. The issues are accessed via Primo by searching as below and linking through to PEARL. 

Here you can find links to the key databases to use for Education. These databases are indexes. Where we subscribe to the full text, you will be able to click through. They will also point you to any articles held in print on level 0 of the library. When you click on the link you will be asked to sign in to the portal. Once in Primo, click on the View it link.

Database guidance

Finding journal articles

The databases below can be searched for journal articles.

Finding statistics and research reports 

The links below to databases and websites

Finding professional literature

 

What is the School Experience Collection?

If you are training to teach, you can use the School Experience Collection: books and teaching materials for use with primary and secondary pupils.  The collection has been assembled for over 40 years and includes some items of historical interest.  Some of the collection is used to support modules on children’s literature, including a collection of picture books. 

If you are going on placement, you will need to be able to find materials to take with you to support your teaching and also the school which may not have a library.   The aims of this guide are:

  • to help you become more effective in finding materials for school experience
  • to be aware of what other material in the library can support school experience
  • to find cross curricular resources for school experience

More information on the School Experience Collection

Pros:

  • Newspaper articles can be a useful source of information if you want to gauge public opinion or you want local information.
  • They are easy to read and aimed at the general public.

Cons:

  • Often factually incorrect.
  • Aimed at general public so will often be too shallow in coverage for academic purposes
  • Newspapers usually have a political bias and agenda.

So always verify information found in a newspaper article.  

Currently you can search back issues of newspapers, including local papers, through a database called Nexis Newspapers. The Times Educational Supplement is also available via Lexis Library (News Tab)

Useful websites for Education

More information on evaluating websites

The library holds both DVDs and CDs which are kept on the shelves alongside the books. It also has a very small number of VHS tapes which can be viewed on dedicated VHS viewers on level 0 in the library. As well as these the library subscribes to a number of online audio-visual resources listed below:

Loading

New books in the Library

Library News

Core e-Textbooks

First year undergraduates are supplied with some core e-Textbooks for use throughout the course. You need to download the books before the end of May.  Further details and instructions are available below.logo