Skip to main content

Languages: Home

Languages

Information Specialist

abigail.heath@plymouth.ac.uk

Room 201 The Library

Resources for Languages

Books 

The Library has a number of resources to help when studying a foreign language, including

  • Dictionaries, grammar and text books to help you improve your foreign language skills
  • Country information - political, economic and cultural information
  • Linguistic books on language teaching and learning.

 

Most of the resources can be found on Level 2. The Dewey decimal classifications are:

  • 400 Languages
  • 410 Linguistics
  • 430 German
  • 440 French
  • 450 Italian
  • 460 Spanish
  • 470 Latin
  • 480 Greek
  • 490 Other languages  

  The Library stocks a number of foreign language film DVDs which are available to borrow. Most of these can be found on Level 0 but search Primo to find exact location. Change the search field to Book, Journal titles etc and then recordings.

 

 

 

The Library stocks both print and electronic journals

 

 

French titles in print (level 0 of the library)

Ça m'intéresse, Bien Dire 

German titles in print (level 0 of the library)

Der Spiegel, Focus das moderne Nachrichtenmagazin

Spanish titles in print (level 0 of the library)

Cambio 16, Muy interesante

Click on the links below to access the online version of some magazines. You will need to log in and then from the Primo screen, click on View It (to the left of the details tab)

 The University provides access to a range of language software on its university PCs in the Digital Lab (Cookworthy), the Library and Babbage Open Access. To access go to the Start Menu - All Programs - University Software.

 

Add the FrKeys toolbar for foreign characters by searching under software - F. Once you have installed FrKeys simply right click on any character to change the language from French to the one you need.

 

 

 

​    Eurotalk French - video, tests, games.

    French Experience - interactive French for beginners.

 

​   VideoPlus German - video, interactive exercises

 

​     Eurotalk Spanish: video, tests, games.  Av

Camino al españolnetworked CD audio accompanying book. Available in digital lab (Cookworthy)

Lab Audio CDs: networked CD-Roms. Available in digital lab(cookworthy)

Pasaporte al Mundo Hispanonetowrked CD audio accompanying book. Available in digital lab (Cookworthy)

 

   As well as the resources available on Campus there are some software that are online resources that you can access both on and off campus.  

 

 

London Met e-packs: interactive exercises for beginners and intermediate

Go to http://learning.londonmet.ac.uk/epacks/  (log-in details available from your lecturer) 

Spanish Community – Resources for learning Spanish

Go to: http://intranet.plymouth.ac.uk/Spanish/intranet.htm

 

 

 

 

  As well as searching for specific books or journals the Library provides access to a number of databases allowing you to search across a number of resource for information on a subject.

A lot of databases are subject specific although some are also multi disciplinary. The key databases for languages are:

 

As well as print material and DVDs the Library also provides access to archived TV & radio content.

There is a large range of information available on the internet. Here are a few of our recommended websites.  

 

Bab.La - online dictionary for a large number of languages. 

    French Websites 

 German Websites

 Spanish Websites

There are a range of apps designed to help you learn a foreign language.

 

Below are our suggested apps divided into learning languages, dictionaries and newspapers and radio. 

Language Learning Apps

Newspaper and radio apps

Language Dictionary Apps

Loading

LIBRARY JARGON GUIDE

Unsure what some of the words used in the Library mean? Our guide will help explain what is meant by words such as recall.

Practice your langauge

Looking for an opportunity to meet up with others to speak French, Spanish, Chinese, Italian or English visit the Languages cafe.