Languages
Resources for Languages
The Library has a number of resources to help when studying a foreign language, including:
- Dictionaries, grammar and text books to help you improve your foreign language skills
- Country information - political, economic and cultural information
- Linguistic books on language teaching and learning.
Most of the resources can be found on Level 2. The Dewey decimal classifications are:
| Subject | Library Level | Shelfmark |
|---|---|---|
| Languages | 2 | 400 |
| Linguistics | 2 | 410 |
| German | 2 | 430 |
| French | 2 | 440 |
| Italian | 2 | 450 |
| Spanish | 2 | 460 |
| Latin | 2 | 470 |
| Greek | 2 | 480 |
| Other Languages | 2 | 490 |
The Library stocks both print and electronic journals
French titles in print (level 0 of the library)
Ça m'intéresse, Bien Dire
German titles in print (level 0 of the library)
Der Spiegel, Focus das moderne Nachrichtenmagazin
Spanish titles in print (level 0 of the library)
Cambio 16, Muy interesante
Click on the links below to access the online version of some magazines. You will need to log in and then from the Primo screen, click on View It (to the left of the details tab)
- L'Expansion onlineAvailable via Nexis Newspapers. Click on Academic Sign in, then UK Access Management Federation/Plymouth University 2014. No need for usernames or passwords
- Focus das moderne NachrichtenmagazinAvailable via Nexis Newspapers. then UK Access Management Federation/Plymouth University 2014. No need for usernames or passwords. You can then search under Sources for the title.
- Der Spiegel onlineAvailable via Nexis Newspapers.then UK Access Management Federation/Plymouth University 2014. No need for usernames or passwords
The University provides access to a range of language software on its university PCs in the Digital Lab (Cookworthy and the Library. To access go to the Start Menu - All Programs - University Software.
Add the FrKeys toolbar for foreign characters by searching under software - F. Once you have installed FrKeys simply right click on any character to change the language from French to the one you need.
Eurotalk French - video, tests, games.
French Experience - interactive French for beginners.
VideoPlus German - video, interactive exercises
Eurotalk Spanish: video, tests, games. Av
Camino al español: networked CD audio accompanying book. Available in digital lab (Cookworthy)
Lab Audio CDs: networked CD-Roms. Available in digital lab(cookworthy)
Pasaporte al Mundo Hispano: netowrked CD audio accompanying book. Available in digital lab (Cookworthy)
As well as the resources available on Campus, there are online resources that you can access:
London Met e-packs: interactive exercises for beginners and intermediate
Go to http://learning.londonmet.ac.uk/epacks/ (log-in details available from your lecturer)
Spanish Community – Resources for learning Spanish
As well as searching for specific books or journals the Library provides access to a number of databases allowing you to search across a number of resource for information on a subject.
A lot of databases are subject specific although some are also multi disciplinary. The key databases for languages are:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journals archive.
This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Scholarly, majority full-text business database. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Database containing journal articles, industry news and country reports relating to tourism and hospitality.
- This link opens in a new window
As well as print material and DVDs the Library also provides access to archived TV & radio content.
- EU ScreenEUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window BoB is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions.
There is a large range of information available on the internet. Here are a few of our recommended websites.
Bab.La - online dictionary for a large number of languages.
French Websites
- BBC FrenchFrench news stories via the BBC website
- French GovernmentFrench government site for information on France and the French
- Label FranceFor all issues of the news magazine Label France
German Websites
- Goethe InstitutLinks for German language and culture on the internet
- German vocabulary testsSolutions and print options
- German government websiteFacts and figures about the German government
Spanish Websites
- El MundoSpanish newspaper
- BBC SpanishSpanish via the BBC website
- Cervantes InstituteVirtual culture from the Cervantes Institute
There are a range of apps designed to help you learn a foreign language.
Below are our suggested apps divided into learning languages, dictionaries and newspapers and radio.
Language Learning Apps
- Cat Spanish app from i-Tunes Learn Spanish. From pictures of cats. CatSpanish combines the latest learning science with the power of internet cats to bring you probably the most powerful, and certainly the funniest, way to learn basic Spanish.
- Duolingo Learn Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, and English. Totally fun and 100% free. Android app
Newspaper and radio apps
- Le Monde.fr Suivez toute l'actualité française et internationale sur tablette et smartphone avec Le Monde • Accédez aux dernières informations classées par chaîne thématique • Recevez les alertes d’actualité en temps réel • Retrouvez les contenus multimédias du Monde.fr : vidéos, portfolios... • Profitez des articles lors de vos déplacements grâce au mode déconnecté
- El Pais Artículos, fotos y vídeos del día. › Última Hora actualizada al minuto. › Las viñetas diarias de Forges, El Roto, Erlich, Peridis y Ramón › Blogs. › Todas las secciones: Internacional, Política, España, Economía, Tecnología, Deportes, Sociedad, Salud, Ciencia, Gente, Televisión, Opinión, Viñetas, Fotos, Cultura, Cine, Música, Andalucía, Cataluña, Galicia, Madrid, País Vasco, Valencia.
- TuneIn Radio TuneIn lets you listen to the world’s radio with music, sports, news, talk, and comedy streaming from every continent. Enjoy 70,000 live radio stations and 2 million podcasts, concerts or shows on your Android phone or tablet, all for free.
- French Newspapers This app allows you to link to the mobile sites of a large number of French national and regional newspapers.
- Spanish Newspapers All national news headlines, sports, regional economy and most important of Spain now on your mobile!
- German Newspapers An app which gives you access to a large number of German national or local newspapers on your mobile device
Language Dictionary Apps
- Collins French Dictionary The dictionary has over 80,000 references, contemporary vocabulary, cultural equivalents, and notes on dialect.
- Collins Spanish Dictionary The dictionary has over 80,000 references of contemporary vocabulary, includes the language of current affairs, business, computing and tourism.
- Collins German Dictionary Over 80,000 words, phrases and definitions * Comprehensive and up-to- date coverage of all words and phrases you need, and German updated for the new spelling reform * In-depth treatment of difficult words * Clear color layout helps you find what you are looking for quickly and easily * Cultural notes provide insight into the life in German-speaking countries
Practice your language
Looking for an opportunity to meet up with others to speak French, Spanish, Chinese, Italian or English visit the Languages cafe.