Skip to main content

English and Creative Writing: Image collections

The Artstor Digital Library is a resource containing over 2 million images from the world's museums, archives, libraries, and scholars in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

Use Artstor to find images for papers, presentations, and study. It also has a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into powerpoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.

It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else. 

VADS is an online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.

Over 3,500 hours of film and 50,000 images from various national archives

Political Posters, Labadie Collection

The Joseph A. Labadie Collection contains posters which have been acquired over the past 100 years. This database consists of images of those posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later.

Cartoon Collections