Biomedical Sciences
Help and support for students and staff on biomedical and healthcare science courses
Using databases
This guide will help you through the process of database searching.
Databases
You can find more databases by using the 'Find Databases' button on the Primo home page.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Key health research database covering hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a source of reliable and up to date information on the effects of interventions and includes systematic reviews, assessments and clinical trials. - EMBASE: Excerpta Medica (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. ACCESS ROUTE
To check access to the full text of articles via Primo, use the External Resolver link to the right of the article details. - MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for searching the Medical and Healthcare literature. - MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for searching the Medical and Healthcare literature. To check for full text access to an article click on "External Resolver" - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based medical and health database produced by the US National Institute of Health. Linking from results to full text content is limited and you may be required to search for the journal title in Primo. < - Science Direct This link opens in a new windowJournals published by Elsevier with a strong focus on scientific, technical and medical literature.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching.
Other sources
- Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,500 audio-visual presentations covering biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, diseases and disorders, drug discovery, genetics, immunology, methods, microbiology and virology, neurobiology, and pharmaceutical sciences.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowHealthcare and biomedical research database.It is a freely accessible archive of full text and abstract-only, peer reviewed publications.
- TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Practical aspects of health and medical research. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publisher of scientific, technical and medical scholarly literature. - NetAnatomy This link opens in a new windowDesigned to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body is a suite of interactive online programs that bring human anatomy to life through 3D anatomical models, video animations and simulations, cutting-edge, augmented reality technology, and more.
Searching Skills
- Oxford University Medical Searching SkillsHelp with PICO searching,searching Cochrane and using MeSH headings
- The PICO method of searchingPICO helps you to take a more evidence-based approach to literature searching
- Advanced PICOT searchingA tutorial which runs through the method of PICOT searching for evidence-based practice and includes help on structuring your search.
- SPIDER model of searching - tutorialAn alternative method of searching to PICO. The SPIDER method is shown to be more effective in retrieving qualitative or mixed methods research papers.
Effective database searching
This online tutorial below will guide you through the process of database searching. Click on the image to get to the tutorial.
