Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education

A guide to using the library resources for Education students

Education Library Guide

School Experience Collection (Level 2 of the Library)

What is in the collection?

There are various types of material in the collection. These include:

  • Non-fiction,  e.g  books on topics such as science, customs, history
  • Project Packs, e.g. packs of materials on a theme (may include a DVD, photocards or posters)
  • Fiction, e.g. stories
  • Poetry
  • Schemes- lesson plans (often including photocopiable worksheets or CD-ROMs) including electronic resource InterED
  • Texts at your own level (to help you become familiar with the key points of a topic you may never have studied yourself but have to teach)

How to use the School Experience Collection

A simplified version of the Dewey classification system is used for the School Experience Collection.  It helps you to find items on the shelves and is the system often used in school libraries.

All of the items in the School Experience Collection have a J before the number.  Watch the video to see what the collection contains and for advice on locating the different types of resources:


Examples of the Junior Dewey Classification

J + three numbers Non Fiction e.g. J 398 Myths and Legends or J 821 Poetry Anthologies or J 822 Drama
J + three letters Fiction The three letters are the first three letters of the author’s surname e.g. J PAR
J OS Oversize Non Fiction (including big books)
JPB Big Books Fiction
JS short story collections
JP picture books (fiction)
JPL dual language/foreign language picture books
J REF

reference material e.g. photocopiable teaching packs, lesson plans

Check your understanding of the Junior Dewey classification in this tutorial:


How find items in the School Experience Collection on Primo

Go to Primo and change "Quick Search" to "School Experience Collection" to search the materials in this collection only:


Helping pupils to be Information Literate

CILIP: the library and information associationBy using the collection while on placement, you can help children with their information literacy skills.  You can ask questions before starting a topic with a class:

What shall we find out?

Where can we find information?

What resources shall we use?

Shall we make notes?

How shall we present our results?

These are skills that will help children to develop some early critical thinking skills.  The UK's professional association for libraries (CILIP) has developed definitions, framework and a body of work on what it is to be information literate in our lives, studies and future careers.  They also run campaigns on children and school libraries e.g. Great School Libraries.