Business & Management
Resources for Business and Management
Primo: print and e library books
Primo is the gateway to all the library's resources and includes details of both print and e books:
Search Primo:
Many of the books bought by the library are also available in an electronic format. From Primo just click on the image or the 'Online access' link. If you know the exact book you are looking for, then Primo is the place to start.
Remember, though, that Primo cannot search the full text of an eBook, just the title and book record. This means that you might miss useful eBook material if you only search in Primo. Try searching in one of the big eBook platforms shown below such as Ebook Central and Ebook Collection (EbscoHost) - these do search the full text, and may pick up chapters or sections within books that Primo misses.
|
Library eBooks covering all disciplines. TIP: change 'Select a Field (optional)' to 'TX All Text Fields' to search inside the books These eBooks offer online viewing not permanent download. |
Library eBooks covering all disciplines. These eBooks offer online viewing not permanent download. |
Search the database for thousands of book chapters. Journals with a strong focus on business strategy; leadership; marketing and human resource management. |
Journal Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text business database covering the UK and worldwide. Includes articles, country data, market research and industry profiles. - Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals with a strong focus on business strategy; leadership; marketing and human resource management. - Science Direct This link opens in a new windowJournals published by Elsevier with a focus on scientific literature but with relevance to business and management too.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mostly scientific literature but does cover materials within business and management too. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journals archive. - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary journal publisher with a strong focus on the social sciences. Please note, not every title is within our collection.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles and book chapters particularly useful for Humanities and Social Science subjects. The general search default only returns content within our subscription. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Research database covering environment related disciplines. Many hits will be full text and the SFX button will check other hits for full text via Primo.
- This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstract database covering global warming, climate change and related disciplines. Some hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
- Shipping & Logistics journal titles (USERNAME/PASSWORDS)Access to specialist journals and magazines.
- Focus (logistics & transport)The logistics and transport industry, (part of CILT)
Newspapers
National and global newspapers:
- The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Times online between 1785-2019.
- OnlineNewspapers.comFree access to international news. Full content and archives are not available.
Professional & Trade titles:
- Harvard Business ReviewTo access log into PRIMO, search for Harvard Business Review, then open the publisher platform EBSCO. Searchable via year, part and issue number. Single sign on not available.
- Which?Requires a Username/Password - click on title for details
- Lloyds ListRequires Username / Password - click on title for details
- Focus (logistics & transport)The logistics and transport industry, (part of CILT)
Company data
- FAME This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains information on 3.8 million companies in the UK and Ireland, 2.8 million of which are in detailed format. - MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Industry and company profiles, management reports, statistics and market data and analysis. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text business database covering the UK and worldwide. Includes articles, country data, market research and industry profiles. Resource guide - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics plus analysis and data.
- The Global Economy.comData from multiple official sources such as the World Bank, the United Nations, the US Energy Information Administration, UNESCO, and the World Economic Forum. All data and charts on the site are available for free download.
Market Research
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International industry and company profiles, management reports, statistics and market data and analysis. Resource guide - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organisations and government institutions. It is one of the world’s most successful statistics databases, and the platform consists of over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Apart from statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. - Warc This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Case studies, best practice, market intelligence and consumer insight for marketing, advertising, media and related subjects. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text business database covering the UK and worldwide. Includes articles, country data, market research and industry profiles. Resource guide
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organisations and government institutions. It is one of the world’s most successful statistics databases, and the platform consists of over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Apart from statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. - UK Data Service This link opens in a new windowKey economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes.
Login to Existing Users>choose Plymouth University - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics plus analysis and data.
- GOV.UKThe websites of all government departments and many other agencies and public bodies have been merged into GOV.UK.
Here you can see all policies, announcements, publications, statistics and consultations. - Office for National StatisticsStatistics covering a range of Health & Social Care topics
- The Global Economy.comData from multiple official sources such as the World Bank, the United Nations, the US Energy Information Administration, UNESCO, and the World Economic Forum. All data and charts on the site are available for free download.
- Census Dissemination Unit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access datasets for recent UK Population censuses. - Census Boundary Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UK boundaries datasets.
Websites
- DirectGovThe official government website, (inc. public services).
Media
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowBoB is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions.
Legal
- Lexis Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers UK legislation and a wealth of case law, news, company, market research and directory sources. - Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unless using the personalised service Skip the MyWestlaw login. Westlaw covers UK legislation and a wealth of case law, news, and textbook sources. - i-law.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maritime law resource. Access to i-law requires registration with a University of Plymouth email address.