Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing

Welcome to your Nursing guide, it will help you find books, articles and key databases to support your research. Contact your Information Specialist for 1:1 support if needed.

New Books

Key Resources for Nursing

Help with finding, accessing and using journal articles - further information on journals 

Databases - guidance - find out what a database is

Here you can find links to the key databases to use for Health. These databases are indexes. Where we subscribe to the full text, you will be able to click through. They will also point you to any articles held in print on level 0 of the library. 

Anatomy and Physiology

E-learning

I'm looking for..

                 Click on the links below to access the Anatomy resources

Referencing systematic reviews from the Cochrane Library

Author, Initials. ‘Title of review’. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Year, Issue number, Article number. DOI: number.

e.g. Loveman, E., Royle, P. and Waugh, N. ‘Specialist nurses in diabetes mellitus’. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2003, Issue 2, Art. No. CD003286. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.

When you connect to the review on Wiley, there is a 'how to cite' feature which you can use and adapt for the Harvard style as above.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Referencing the PDFs on the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) database

Author (year) Evidence summary: Title. Available at: url. (Accessed: date)

e.g. Campbell, J. (2014) Evidence summary: Depression: vervain. Available at: http://ovidsp.tx.ovid.com/sp-3.14.0b/ovidweb.cgi?&S=ADGGFPGNDPDDFCCMNCLKKCIBOLFDAA00&Link+Set=S.sh.21%7c2%7csl_190 (Accessed: 10 February 2015)

 

Automatically convert documents into a range of alternate media including audio books, e-books and digital Braille. Convert inaccessible documents such as images or PowerPoint into more accessible formats.
Library Skills Guide - develop your skills and confidence in using the library's resources