Skip to main content

Open Access Research: Using Elements

How to use Elements

    Understanding your profile home page


  • Roles: Any reporting or delegation roles (if applicable) will also be shown on this page.

  •  

    Delegating an Elements account

    Senior staff may wish to delegate access to their Elements account to another individual, such as an Administrator or assistant, so that they can manage publications on their behalf. Actions taken by the delegate will be recorded as being done by the delegate. The delegate must be added by the profile holder: Go to “Account Settings” > type the surname of the delegate and add. Delegates can be removed in the same way.
When you sign into Elements you will see an option to connect your Elements account to ORCiD:

You will be redirected to ORCiD to register or sign in.  

Symplectic will read your ORCiD record and add publications that you have claimed (or will claim in future) in ORCiD to your Symplectic profile if it can find a DOI match in its system.  This means ORCiD can auto-populate your Elements profile with any articles.  This will cut down on some of the manual burden of keeping your Elements profile up to date. 

Adding your Scopus ID to Symplectic Elements with 1 click!

If your work has been previously harvested by Elements from Scopus (or, if you have connected ORCiD with Elements and ORCiD is also connected with Scopus), Elements will already have your ID waiting for you to claim with one click.

  1. Simply log into Elements and click 'Add Scopus ID' on the home page - your Scopus ID is now connected!

Adding your Scopus ID to Symplectic Elements if Elements has not already found it

  1. First ensure you have connected your ORCiD ID with your Elements account (how do I do this

  2. Authorise a connection between ORCiD and Scopus to add your past works to Scopus (how do I do this) first ensuring that any duplicate Scopus IDs are consolidated

  3. Simply log into Elements and click 'Add Scopus ID' on the home page - your Scopus ID is now connected!
     

​What does this look like?

Setting up autoclaim for your IDs

Setting up autoclaim allows Elements to pull in records automatically that are linked to your IDs. This means that they will appear in your profile as promptly as possible, thereby allowing the system to send you deposit reminders for them.

Menu, manage, publications, autoclaiming

Go to menu> manage> publications> automatic claiming

 

This will take you to your linked IDs. Expand the ID you wish to set up autoclaim for and click on the 'manage' button.

 

Use the drop down menu to select 'auto claim my publications' and click 'okay'. 

This will automatically claim any publication records found linked to that ID so they will appear in your profile without needing to claim or reject them.


 

Database Harvesting Settings


Elements will search databases for records of publications that look like they might belong to you. Depending on how accurate this is, you may wish to change these settings
Click the Menu and ‘Search Settings’ box on the home page:

 

Name variants:
The default name given will be that which is held on iTrent, the university’s HR system.  The need to use any of the subsequent search terms below will depend on how common the surname is.

Address:
This has to match any terminology used by databases e.g. as PU could be described as “Univ. of Plymouth”; “University of Plymouth”; “Plymouth University”; "Plymouth Business School" etc., it is safest to simply use the lowest common denominator of “Plymouth”.  Likewise, add a short place name for each previous institution e.g. “London”.

Keywords and Journals:
Use with care – these fields are only recommended only for very common names where name/place does not bring back specific enough hits.

Database search settings: Scroll further down the page to adjust the harvesting settings of databases configured work with Elements:   PubMed, PubMed Central, Web of Science, arXiv (physics/computer science/maths), DBLP(computer science), RePEc(economics) and CiNii(Japan) are currently configured for harvesting by Elements.  Tick only the databases relevant to your area.  
CrossRef database of DOIs (multidisciplinary) will also be searched.

Add in specifc profiles e.g. a ResearchID from Web of Science to personalise even further:


 

Manage your Pending Publications  harvested by the databases:

Elements has harvested hits from different databases.  You now need to ‘claim’ them as your publications or ‘reject’ them if incorrectly harvested.

Mine  =  publications  accepted as being written by the user
Pending  = results retrieved by the automated harvesting, awaiting Claim or Reject
Not Mine
= these will not be retrieved by the automated harvesting again so a decision is only required once on each output.

Mistakes in the data?
To view full details of the publication, click on the publication title link. This will also display the database source name.  Click this to display the full record from the database. If any of the details are wrong, then the database, e.g. Web of Science, should be contacted to request a data correction.  Contact ITselfservice.plymouth.ac.uk if this is required.  A temporary fix is to create a manual record with the correct information and then to click the star  to denote it as the ‘favourite record’.  

A step by step guide is available in the links below these FAQs


Merging duplicate records

Please note- If there is also more than one file that has been deposited for the same publication, please contact the Open Research Team to remove the extra file from PEARL

This might happen for a number of reasons:

  • Authors adding records without realising a record has already been harvested/ been placed by a co-author
  • Harvested record doesn't link to manual record
  • Harvested record and manual record details don't match 

Merging records is easy to do.

1. View publications and identify the ones that need merging.
Use the filters on the right hand side to help see the duplicate records

2. Select the duplicates using the tick box then click on the 'ribbon' icon to send them to your 'workspace'.
 

Locations of icons

3. Click on the ribbon in the top right to go to the 'workspace'. The number relates to the number of records you've sent there- make sure that all versions of the record to be merged are selected.

4. In the 'workspace' select the records you wish to merge using the tick boxes and then select 'join'

 

The system will just inform you if the source of the records are the same- just proceed.

6. The merge should be complete.

At this stage we recommend you view the record to ensure the information is correct.

  • Log in on the www.plymouth.ac.uk website and click the tile for 'Personal Details'
  •  Click the link to  'PPP'
  • Click the “now set to Elements Publications” link > “submit
  • Then select “set your display preferences” to make visible your Elements feed by ticking both boxes next to “publications”
  • Changes should take effect after 24 hours.

Go to “Elements” > “Publications” and ensure 'detailed view' (not 'compact') is selected:


 

Altmetrics:
Hover over the Altmetrics donuts to see the social media buzz on your articles:


 

Export a list of publications:

How to manage IDs

Once registered you will see this screen.  Simply use the auto "Add some now" options to auto populate your ORCiD profile:


Add your past publications:


[Other research tools offer import options e.g. MLA, PubMed, although these connections are not as seamless as Scopus/ResearcherID.]


Google Scholar, Symplectic Elements and Endnote connections:

[We recommend using these options to add any remaining works not found via the automated wizards in ORCiD]

BibTeX files can be uploaded to ORCiD.  Google Scholar, Elements and Endnote can generate BiBTeX files e.g.:

  • Google Scholar:
    Sign into your Google Scholar profile > select all > export:

  • Symplectic Elements:
    Log into Elements
    Go to your Publications via 'Menu' > 'Publications'

    • Either: Tick/select any publications not already picked up by a Scopus connection > 'Export'

    • Or: If you have no publications indexed in Scopus and more than 10 publications listed in Elements, change the view to display up to 100 publications at a time
      Click 'Select all on page' > 'Export'



 
  • For Endnote, export as a txt-file then follow the import options in ORCiD as below
     

  • Uploading saved BibTeX files into ORCiD:
     

Sign into ORCiD > Works > add works > 'import BibTex' > 'choose file'
 


Any remaining records not captured via these tools can be added manually.

Depositing an Item into Elements

VIDEO: Connecting IDs to Elements

Use our quick video guides to connect ORCid & Scopus IDs to Elements:

PEARL Deposit Agreements

Policies