English & Creative Writing
19th Century British Pamphlets
Collections of contemporary pamphlets on subjects such as slavery and the foreign office (via JSTOR).
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more.
BBC Listener Research Department, 1937-c.1950
The "Audience Research Reports of the BBC", covering the period 1937-c.1950, present the early research of the British Broadcasting Corporation's pioneering Listener Research Department (LRD) into wireless listening in Britain nationwide and at a regional level.
British History Online
Primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles. Some material on this resource is freely available but you will need to sign in to get access to the entire range.
British Union of Fascists: Newspapers and Secret Files
In addition to the three principal organs of BUF, Action (1936-1940), Blackshirt (1933-1939) and Fascist week (1933-1934), the present collection reproduces, from the National Archives at Kew, a wealth of information gathered by the Home Office, the Police, MI5 and the Cabinet Office on Mosley and also his second wife, Lady Diana Mosley.
Carl Giles Digital Archive
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. Located at the University of Kent in Canterbury, it holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines.
Communist Party of Great Britain Archive
The archive of the CPGB is extensive. It includes the minutes of the central committees and departments, correspondence, local districts papers, party statements, E.C commissions, national congresses and conferences, speakers notes, subject files, personal files, miscellaneous individuals, youth organisations, Communist International (C.I.) central circular, The People's Press Printing Society (PPPS) (Daily Worker / Morning Star), Young Communist League, non party organisations, material relating to the history of the CPGB, and microfilmed records of CPGB material held in Russia.
Defining Gender
Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations from both masculine and feminine perspectives.
Empire Online
Over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies.
The Grand Tour
This collection (c1550-1850) highlights the influence of continental travel on British culture. It includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Includes sessional papers with supplementary material back to 1688.
India, Raj & Empire
Original manuscript material from 1617 to 1947, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Set up a free account and you can "borrow" items. Some out of copyright items are downloadable.
John Johnson Collection
Thousands of items showing the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes: 19th century entertainment; the book trade; popular prints; crimes, murders and executions; and advertising.
LGBT Magazine Archive
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.
LGBT Thought and Culture
An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Literary Manuscripts Berg Collection
Manuscript collections of fifteen major Victorian authors.
LSE Digital Library
The LSE Digital Library contains digitised material from the Library's collections and also born-digital material that has been collected and preserved in digital formats. Use the Browse button to see what Collections and material can be viewed online.
London Low Life
Brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. Explore the gin palaces, brothels and East End slums of the nineteenth century's greatest city.
Mass Observation Online
Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965.
Migration to New Worlds
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia in nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The Nixon Years 1969 - 1974
Complete Foreign and Commonwealth Office files from 1969-1974 providing a British, European and Commonwealth perspective on Nixon's presidency.
Perdita Manuscripts
Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Romanticism : life, literature and landscape
Discover the working methods of Romantic poets and trace the evolution of celebrated verse. Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Testifying to the Truth - the Wiener Holocaust Library
During the 1950s, researchers at The Wiener Holocaust Library gathered over 1,000 accounts from eyewitnesses to Nazi persecution and genocide. These documents are now available here, for the first time in English.
Victorian Popular Culture
Three themed collections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.
Women in the National Archives
This resource comprises two distinct elements: A Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives at Kew and Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.