Psychology
If you want to search all scholarly information the best place to search is a database. Databases include books, journal and magazine articles and conference proceedings. As well as general databases there are also subject specific databases helping to ensure your search is more relevant. You may also consider looking at particular collections of journals or within a specific journal.
To search for relevant articles simply type in your keywords (see 'Search Strategy' page for help with these).
Databases
PsycINFO
The key index to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, covering 1967 to the present day.
AMED
Allied Health database, produced by the British Library, indexing journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and podiatry.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Key health research database covering hundreds of nursing and allied health journals
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a source of reliable and up to date information on the effects of interventions and includes systematic reviews, assessments and clinical trials.
Emerald
Journals with a strong focus on business strategy; leadership; marketing and human resource management.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) EBP Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is a leading provider of evidence-based health information offering content from across the globe and tools to help in the implementation of evidence at various points of health practice. .
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The premier database for searching the Medical and Healthcare literature.
PubMed
Web-based medical and health database produced by the US National Institute of Health. Linking from results to full text content is limited and you may be required to search for the journal title in Primo.
PubMed Central
Healthcare and biomedical research database.It is a freely accessible archive of full text and abstract-only, peer reviewed publications.
SAGE Research Methods
Multi-discipline resource that covers all aspects of conducting research, from key terminology, key research methods and statistics resources with a project planner that takes a researcher through all aspects of the research journey and its terminology.
Scopus
Scopus is a journal indexing and abstracting database with citation metrics from Elsevier. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities (with a growing coverage of book chapters).
SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology and social science research database. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also covers elements of international relations and world politics.
Social Care Online
Research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. Updated by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE).
Web of Science
Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching.
Publisher journal collections
If you are unable to find the articles you want through Primo, you could try one of the publisher's journal collections below. Do remember these are limited to content published by the individual publishers:
Science Direct
Journals published by Elsevier with a strong focus on scientific, technical and medical literature.
Taylor & Francis Online
Multidisciplinary journal publisher with a strong focus on the social sciences. Please note, not every title is within our collection.
Wiley Online Library
Publisher of scientific, technical and medical scholarly literature.
Conference Proceedings
Conference proceedings consist of a collection of papers reporting on presentations or posters delivered at conferences, seminars or workshops. They are sources of primary research information and the conference is often the first place the information has been made public. Therefore, conference proceedings are often the most up to date source of current research and ideas. Do bear in mind though that they probably have not been peer reviewed, and you may only have access to the abstract.
To search for relevant conference proceedings in Primo simply type in your keywords.