Social Work
If you want to search all scholarly information the best place to search is a database. Databases primarily include journal articles, but also books, magazine articles and conference proceedings. As well as general databases there are also health-specific databases helping to ensure your search is more relevant.
To search for relevant articles simply type in your keywords (see 'Search Strategy' page for help with these).
Databases
AMED
Allied Health database, produced by the British Library, indexing journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and podiatry.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly, majority full-text business database. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Produced by NISC providing references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
CINAHL Ultimate
Key health research database covering hundreds of nursing and allied health journals
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a source of reliable and up to date information on the effects of interventions and includes systematic reviews, assessments and clinical trials.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The premier database for searching the Medical and Healthcare literature.
PsycINFO
The key index to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, covering 1967 to the present day.
PubMed
Web-based medical and health database produced by the US National Institute of Health. Linking from results to full text content is limited and you may be required to search for the journal title in Primo.
SAGE Research Methods
Multi-discipline resource that covers all aspects of conducting research, from key terminology, key research methods and statistics resources with a project planner that takes a researcher through all aspects of the research journey and its terminology.
Scopus
Scopus is a journal indexing and abstracting database with citation metrics from Elsevier. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities (with a growing coverage of book chapters).
SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology and social science research database. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also covers elements of international relations and world politics.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
Practical aspects of health and medical research.
Westlaw
Unless using the personalised service Skip the MyWestlaw login. Westlaw covers UK legislation and a wealth of case law, news, and textbook sources.