Special Collections
Most of the collection was originally assembled for its artistic merit. Ranging from the 16th to the 21st centuries, it provides examples of typography, illustration, lithography and fine art. Today this eclectic collection is a useful resource for all areas of research within the fields of arts and humanities and beyond.
Rare Books Highlights
Theatrum Botanicum By John Parkinson Published in 1640
John Parkinson (1567–1650) English herbalist.
Theatrum Botanicum or Theater of Plantes describes over 3,800 plants. It was the first work to describe 33 native plants,some of which were so common they had never been recorded before. This book is quite fragile so has to be kept separately. If you wish to view this, contact informationspecialists@plymouth.ac.uk so it can be made available for you to view on your visit to the collection.
The Anatomy of the Horse 1766 by George Stubbs (1724-1806)
George Stubbs is best known as a painter of horses and a self-taught engraver. Early in his career, he spent eighteen months studying and drawing the anatomy of horses. He set up a studio in a barn in which he could hang a dead horse from hooks and tackle specially attached to the ceiling. He then carefully removed layers of skin and muscle, drawing as he went, until he reached the skeleton. This was the first time such a comprehensive and detailed study had been undertaken on the anatomy of horses. Stubbs attempted to have these studies engraved and published. Unfortunately, he could not find an engraver or publisher to take up the project. So in 1759 he moved to London and set about etching the plates himself. Six years later, the plates were complete and Stubbs funded their publication himself. The result was The Anatomy of the Horse, published in 1766 (our copy is one of these first editions). His remarkably clear, detailed and accurate drawings acted as an advertisement for his skill, and launched his career. Soon after the book was published Stubbs began to receive painting commissions from various patrons
If you wish to view this, contact informationspecialists@plymouth.ac.uk so it can be made available for you to view on your visit to the collection.
The Oldest Book in the Collection
Lucan Pharsalia, 1514 edition is in Latin and is a Roman epic poem written by the poet Lucan, detailing the civil war between Julius Caesar and the forces of the Roman Senate led by Pompey the Great. The poem's title is a reference to the Battle of Pharsalus, which occurred in 48 BC, near Pharsalus, Thessaly, in northern Greece. Caesar decisively defeated Pompey in this battle.
If you wish to view this, contact informationspecialists@plymouth.ac.uk so it can be made available for you to view on your visit to the collection.