History
Historic Newspapers & Periodicals
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Access to 1757-1817 early English newspapers.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society.
19th Century UK Periodicals Online
Provides an invaluable fully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th Century.
British Periodicals (Proquest)
Hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Carl Giles Digital Archive
The British Cartoon Archive is a library, archive and gallery dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. Located at the University of Kent in Canterbury, it holds the national collection of cartoons of political and social comment published in British newspapers and magazines.
Chronicling America
America's historic newspapers from 1777-1963.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Includes the full run of The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1832. Remarkable for its longevity, The Lady's Magazine is a major source for scholars of gender, social and literary studies. To compliment the Lady's Magazine, the collection also includes other relevant titles that are social, cultural and literary in scope.
Jisc Journal Archives
JISC Collections contains the archives of the following journal publishers: Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institute of Physics, ProQuest, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press and the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Modernist Journals Project
A resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published.
Oz Magazine (London)
OZ magazine was published in London between 1967 and 1973 under the general editorship of Richard Neville and later also Jim Anderson and Felix Dennis. Martin Sharp was initially responsible for art and graphic design.
Oz Magazine (Sydney)
OZ magazine was published in Sydney, Australia, between 1963 and 1969 under the general editorship of Richard Neville and Richard Walsh, with Martin Sharp responsible for art direction.
Punch Magazine Cartoon Archive
Punch magazine (1841-2002) produced half a million cartoons by the best artists on Domestic & Foreign Affairs, Culture, Art, Fashion, Society, Science & Technology. Images are watermarked but you have access in the library to paper copies of the magazine that can be photographed or scanned.
The Crisis Archives
The Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois, as the official publication of the NAACP, is a journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color.
The Strand Magazine 1891-1922
A monthly magazine published 1891-1950. Probably the most popular of the 'illustrated periodicals' in the late Victorian and Edwardian period. The typical Strand Magazine issue contains a mixture of stories for adults, general interest non-fiction, and material for children. Much well-known fiction first appeared in the Strand Magazine, most notably Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes short stories.
The Times Digital Archive
Access to the Times online between 1785-2010.
Vogue Archive
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full colour page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.