Health Professions
Banner
Here are a selection of professional bodies representing various Health Professions, as well as online profession-specific resources.
Useful Websites
Amber
Amber contains records of published research authored by staff working in NHS ambulance services in England and Scotland.
College of Paramedics
The recognised professional body for paramedics and the ambulance profession in the UK.
Department of Health
The latest news and updates from the Department of Health and Social Care.
HCPC
Delivering forward-looking regulation underpinned by strong data, collaboration and compassion.
National Case Review Repository
The repository provides a single place for published case reviews to make it easier to access and share learning at a local, regional and national level.
NICE
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.
OT Seeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
PEDro
A database of over 35,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
Royal College of Occupational Therapists
Gives members opportunities to learn, research, teach, practice and continuously improve their knowledge and skills. They also work with healthcare commissioners, political leaders and others to position occupational therapy as a solution at the heart of health and social care.
Social Care Online
Research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. Updated by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE).
The Institute of Chiropodists and Podiatrists
A professional body that serves practitioners throughout the whole of the profession of podiatry and podiatric medicine
NHS Resources
Students from the School of Health Professions on commissioned courses are eligible for an NHS OpenAthens account to access the following resources:
- ProQuest & Chadwyck-Healey databases
- Ovid Technologies, Inc.
- e-Learning for Healthcare (see below Word document for advice on how to log in to this resource)
- EBSCO Databases, Discovery Service, eBooks, Point of Care Products, DynaMed and Journal Collections
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub
For Health Professions students (apart from Paramedics): look out for an email in the month following the start of your course from Eduserv Athens asking you to activate your account
For further advice on your Open Athens account or to reset your password please contact: Abigail Allen- Senior Information Adviser - abigail.allen@plymouth.ac.uk
Paramedics: You will receive separate communication on how to set up and manage your account.