Art, Design and Architecture
Suggest websites
If there are any useful websites you think would be a good addition to this page, please email nicola.tricker@plymouth.ac.uk.
Art web resources
a-n The Artists Information Company
The largest artists’ membership organisation in the UK with over 28,000 members. They support artists and those who work with them in many practical ways, acting on behalf of the membership and the visual arts sector to improve artists’ livelihoods.
Art History News
The aim of Art History News is to provide a useful source for art history related news stories, such as exhibitions, research and recently discovered paintings.
Association of Art History
Through advocacy, events, networks, membership, grants and publications, the Association for Art History celebrates and promotes the value of art history and visual culture today.
BBC Culture - Art History
BBC compiled articles on various topics in Art and Art History.
Black Artists in British Art: A Resource
Page of resources shining a spotlight on historic and contemporary Black artists in British art (you will need to scroll down a little).
British Museum
Collections can be explored online.
Courtauld Photographic Collections
The Courtauld’s photographic collections are of major international significance for the study and research of art, architecture, provenance and collecting.
Disability Arts Online
An organisation led by disabled people, that serves artists and arts audiences who face disabling barriers. Their website showcases disability arts content, resources and a vibrant community of disabled creatives.
e-flux.com
e-flux.com spans numerous strains of critical discourse in art, architecture, film, and theory, and connects many of the most significant art institutions with audiences around the world.
Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA)
The ICA was founded by a collective of artists, poets and their supporters, including Peter Gregory, E.L.T. Mesens, Roland Penrose, Herbert Read and Peter Watson.
Lambiek Comiclopedia
Biographical information on nearly 14,000 comic artists and cartoonists.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
The Met has more than 375,000 hi-res images of public-domain works available for use.
Museo Nacional del Prado
The Museo Nacional del Prado was inaugurated in 1819 and fulfils the mission of conserving, exhibiting and enriching the set of collections and works of art closely linked to the history of Spain.
National Gallery
Founded in 1824, the National Gallery houses a collection of over 2,300 paintings dating from the mid-13th century to 1900. The official website.
National Gallery of Art (Washington)
Many images (not all) are open access and can be used without permission. Check each image.
National Portrait Gallery Research
The National Gallery's research-focused page.
NDACA National Disability Arts Collection & Archive
The NDACA is a £1-million project that brings to life the heritage and rich history of the UK Disability Arts Movement. The-ndaca.org is the only location to discover their online catalogue of 3,500 images.
NDL Image Library
The NDL Image Bank showcases items from the National Diet Library of Japan's substantial collection of visual materials, including ukiyo-e woodblock prints, books, magazines, and other forms of published media.
Obelisk - A New History of Art
Obelisk describes itself as "a place to explore the wildly diverse world of art history."
Queer Art History
A visual history and educational resource for queer art and culture.
Royal Academy of Arts
Located in the heart of London, the RA is a place where art is made, exhibited and debated.
Royal Academy of Arts: Women in Art
A Royal Academy page with specific articles related to women in art.
Shape Arts
Shape Arts is a disability-led arts organisation which works to improve access to culture for disabled people by providing opportunities for disabled artists, training cultural institutions to be more open to disabled people, and through running participatory arts and development programmes.
Tate Modern
The Tate Modern's official website.
Tate: Queer Lives and Art
Section of the Tate Modern website devoted to the discovery of LGBTQ+ artists and art.
Virtual Uffizi
The unofficial guide to the Uffizi, with a virtual tour, event details, articles and biographies.
V&A Research
The V&A's dedicated Research pages. The V&A was the first museum in the world to establish a dedicated Research Department and it continues to be a core activity of the Museum today.