Music
Introduction
The majority of the library's journals are available online. Most of the time you will find the academic or scholarly articles you need from peer-reviewed journals by using an "Articles" search on Primo but as your course progresses you may find it useful to look at the databases below. For articles from previous centuries contemporary to the subject of your research use the historical newspapers and periodicals section.
Not all of our journals are online. You will still find a few in boxes on the shelves with the books. Some are current subscriptions that have not been made available electronically, some are early editions of journals that are now electronic but pre-date the digitisation process.
| Journal Title | Library Level | Shelfmark |
|---|---|---|
| Songlines | 0 | 780 SON |
| The Wire (2005 to date) | 0 | 780 WIR |
| Future Music (2006 to date) | 0 | 786.7 FUT |
Music Periodicals Database
Indexing and abstracting database covering scholarly and popular music journals. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
Arts & Humanities Full Text
Indexing and abstracting database covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, Cultural Studies and Womens studies.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journals archive.
Web of Science
Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching. Resource Guide: Resource guide
IEEE Xplore
IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation from computing and sustainable energy systems, to aerospace, communications, robotics, healthcare, and more. Useful if you are studying the technology side of music and recording.
Lexis Library (Newspapers)
Although primarily a Law database, you can search UK national and local newspaper archives via the News tab. Articles are text only. Resource guide