Navigation & Maritime
What are Journals?
Journals, sometimes called periodicals or serials, are scholarly magazines with each issue comprising several journal articles written by different authors. Journals are subject specific with an expert editorial board of academics reviewing each article is submitted for publication.
Primo (the Library catalogue) can search across the hundreds of journal that the Library subscribes to. You may prefer to search individual journal titles or subject specific journal publisher collections listed on this page instead of Primo for a more focused search. However, remember the Library may not have purchased every journal from these publisher so not all hits will be full text. Always check Primo to determine the library's holdings of a journal. If you want to find out more about the what, why and how of Journals, see our tutorial guidance:
Library Skills Guide: peer review and journal tutorials
Primo journal article search
 |
Primo is the gateway to all the Library's resources and can search inside journals from different publishers at article level. Primo defaults to full text hits so all articles will be accessible. It is not recommended for a thorough literature search but is a good place to start if you are new to journal searching. |
Search Primo:
Useful journal titles for NMS
eJournals the library subscribes to which publish on NMS topics:
However, remember the Library may not have purchased every year of publication of every journal from these publisher so not all hits will be full text. Primo defaults to full text access.
Useful journal publisher collections for NMS
Publisher collections of many eJournals titles the library subscribes to. Useful for broader topic searching.
However, remember the Library may not have purchased every year of publication of every journal from these publisher so not all hits will be full text. Primo defaults to full text access.
Science Direct
Journals published by Elsevier covering all Science and Engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE is a key resource for electronic engineering but also useful for some technical aspects of NMS.
Emerald
Journals with a strong focus on business strategy; leadership; marketing and human resource management. Good for NMS personnel, training and leadership topics.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly, majority full-text business database. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
Environment Complete
Research database covering environment related disciplines. Many hits will be full text and the SFX button will check other hits for full text via Primo.