Biomedical Sciences
Banner
Anatomy and Physiology Resources
Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy
An online platform of more than 300 3D narrated videos of anatomical structures to support teaching and learning. Review and testing options. Supports Flash and non-flash devices.
NetAnatomy
Designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students.
Visible Body
Visible Body is a suite of interactive online programs that bring human anatomy to life through 3D anatomical models, video animations and simulations, cutting-edge, augmented reality technology, and more.
Anatomy Books
Data & Statistics
Office for National Statistics
Statistics covering a range of Health & Social Care topics.
re3data.org
re3data has become the resource of information about research data repositories. It indexes and provides extensive information about more than 2450 research data repositories
Statista
An online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organisations and government institutions.
DHCS Statistics
Department of Health & Social Care Statistics statistics (England)
NHS England Statistics
Statistics on a range of health and care subjects. These statistics are used to inform debate, decision-making and research both within Government and by the wider community.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics
CDC is one of the major operating components of the US Department of Health and Human Services.
WHO Health Statistics
Search and browse the wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being that are managed and maintained by WHO.
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of social, economic and population data for over 50 years
Edinburgh DataShare
A digital repository of research data produced by University of Edinburgh researchers. Data is associated with an existing or forthcoming publication, or which has potential use for other researchers.
Drugs & Pharmacology Resources
Drug Calculations for Health Professionals
This is a great tool to help students, nurses, paramedics, allied health professionals and doctors sharpen their skills or maintain competency.
Drug Safety Update - GOV.UK
Alerts, recalls and safety information about drugs and medical devices, from Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency.
NICE - Medicines and Prescribing
Support for delivering quality, safety and effiency in the optimisation of medicines. Includes free access to the British National Formulary (BNF).
Specialist Pharmacy Service
The NHS Specialist Pharmacy Service supports medicines optimisation across the NHS.
Drug Calculation Books
The Top 100 Drugs
Physical copies held in library
Non-Medical Prescribing: A Course Companion
Physical copies held in library
Understanding Medicines Management for Nursing Students
Physical copies held in library
Mental Health Medicines Management for Nurses
Physical copies held in library
Legal Resources
Lexis Library
Covers UK legislation and a wealth of case law, news, company, market research and directory sources. Resource Guide
Westlaw
Westlaw covers UK legislation and a wealth of case law, news, and textbook sources. Unless using the personalised service, skip the MyWestlaw login. Resource Guide
Long Term Conditions
GOV.UK - Long Term Conditions
Guidance, news, research and statistics on long term health conditions from GOV.UK
NICE - Long Term Conditions
All NICE products on multiple long-term conditions. Includes any guidance, advice, NICE pathways and quality standards
The King's Fund - Long Term Conditions & Multi-Morbidity
From The King's Fund's "Time to Think Differently" project
Royal College of Psychiatrists
The IAPT pathway for people with long-term physical health conditions and medically unexplained symptoms
NHS Resources
Students from the School of Nursing and Midwifery are eligible for an NHS OpenAthens account to access the following resources:
- ProQuest & Chadwyck-Healey databases
- Ovid Technologies, Inc.
- e-Learning for Healthcare (see below Word document for advice on how to log in to this resource)
- EBSCO Databases, Discovery Service, eBooks, Point of Care Products, DynaMed and Journal Collections
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub
Look out for an email in the month following the start of your course from Eduserv Athens asking you to activate your account.
For further advice on your Open Athens account or to reset your password please contact:
Abigail Allen- Senior Information Adviser - abigail.allen@plymouth.ac.uk