Mathematics and Statistics
Library eJournal collections useful to Mathematics
Journals, sometimes called periodicals or serials, are scholarly magazines with each issue comprising several journal articles written by different authors. Journals are subject specific with an expert editorial board of academics reviewing each article is submitted for publication (peer review).
Primo can search across the hundreds of journal that the Library subscribes to. You may prefer to search these subject specific journal publisher collections instead of Primo for a more focused search. However, remember the Library may not have purchased every journal from these publisher so not all hits will be full text. Always check Primo to determine the library's holdings of a journal. For more guidance on searching for journal articles see this student guide:
Library Skills Guide: peer review and journal tutorials
JSTOR
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journals archive.
Science Direct
Journals published by Elsevier with a strong focus on scientific, technical and medical literature.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE is a key resource for electronic engineering but also has a lot of mathematical modelling literature
Business Source Complete
Scholarly, majority full-text business database. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
ACM Digital Library
Database for computing and information technology research. Full text access to every article ever published by ACM (Association for computing machinery) plus bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Institute of Physics journals
IOP Publishing is part of the Institute of Physics, a not-for-profit society working to advance physics education, research & application. Plymouth Library has access to the current 10 years worth of content from all IOP journals plus the archive up until 1998.
Primo journal article search
 |
Primo is the gateway to all the Library's resources and can search inside journals from different publishers at article level. Primo defaults to full text hits so all articles will be accessible. It is not recommended for a thorough literature search but is a good place to start if you are new to journal searching. |
Search Primo:
Mathematics with Education courses - additional resources
British Education Index
A key index of British journal articles, it covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education including special needs.
Taylor & Francis Online
Multidisciplinary journal publisher with a strong focus on the social sciences.