Nursing
Searching for Journals and Articles in Primo
Primo is a good place to start your search and you will find many of the academic, peer reviewed articles you need. Type your keywords into the search box, limit to 'Articles' and search:
However, Primo does not allow you to do an in-depth systematic search. To do that, you need to use databases.
What are databases?
Databases are subject specific indexes to published research, which will link through to the full text where we have a subscription to content. They contain mostly journal articles but also conference proceedings, dissertations, theses and lots more. See 'Sources and Types of Information' in the Library Skills guide for more information on these resources. Below you will find databases which may be useful for your research.
Useful Databases
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings
AMED
Allied Health database, produced by the British Library, indexing journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and professions allied to medicine, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and podiatry.
BMJ Learning
BMJ Learning offers high-quality continuing medical education for doctors and other healthcare professionals. It features hundreds of accredited, peer-reviewed learning modules in text, video, and audio formats. Register and sign in so that you have your own individual record of your learning plan on the BMJ Portfolio website. See the Resource guide for more information
Business Source Complete
Scholarly, majority full-text business database. The majority of hits will be full text and others can be checked for full text via Primo using the SFX button.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Produced by NISC providing references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Key health research database covering hundreds of nursing and allied health journals.
Community Care Inform for Children
For full text please sign in, then choose the 'sign in via Shibboleth' option and choose 'Plymouth University' from the drop-down menu. If you experience access issues with logging in please try clearing your cookies and clearing your cache.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is a source of reliable and up to date information on the effects of interventions and includes systematic reviews, assessments and clinical trials.
Intermid
Full text access to the British Journal of Midwifery.
Internurse
Full text access to 13 high-quality peer-reviewed healthcare journals, including the British Journal of Nursing, and the leading journal for wound-care professionals, Journal of Wound Care.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) EBP Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is a leading provider of evidence-based health information offering content from across the globe and tools to help in the implementation of evidence at various points of health practice. .
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The premier database for searching the Medical and Healthcare literature.
PsycINFO
The key index to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, covering 1967 to the present day.
PubMed
Web-based medical and health database produced by the US National Institute of Health. Linking from results to full text content is limited and you may be required to search for the journal title in Primo. <
PubMed Central
Healthcare and biomedical research database.It is a freely accessible archive of full text and abstract-only, peer reviewed publications.
Royal College of Nursing Journals Package (RCN)
Full text access to ten professional nursing and allied health journals including Nursing Standard, Mental Health Practice, Nursing Children and Young People, Emergency Nurse and Nurse Researcher. Please note: Access to the current year plus 3 year rolling back-file.
Science Direct
Journals published by Elsevier with a strong focus on scientific, technical and medical literature.
Scopus
Scopus is a journal indexing and abstracting database with citation metrics from Elsevier. It covers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities (with a growing coverage of book chapters).
SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology and social science research database. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also covers elements of international relations and world politics.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
Practical aspects of health and medical research.
Web of Science
Major research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage. Includes research tools e.g. citation reports and cited reference searching.
Key Nursing Journals
Print only Journals
There are a small number of journals that are only available in print - this means you will have to go to the journal shelves on level 0 and browse through them.
The journals have shelf numbers allocated by subject area that correspond to those used on the bookshelves.