Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Skills

Databases

  • Go to Primo homepage and click on the Databases tab at the top of the page, or the Databases box.  This will take you through to the A-Z list of databases available to you

  • There are lists of relevant databases in the subject libguides which have been selected as most relevant for your particular area of study.

The A-Z Databases Page

The A-Z databases page is the main place to find and access the databases.

You can:  

  • locate a database by it's title, if you know it by using the alphabetical list
  • choose a database from the list of subjects via the drop down menu
  • choose a database by type, using via the drop down menu
  • choose a database by the provider
  • search for a database by typing a keyword into the search bar

It can be helpful to understand the difference between a database and a database platform.

A database is an organised collection or index of information records containing, journals. articles, videos, images, theses and more.

A database platform is a company which provides access to a number of different databases.

e.g.

Database Platform Databases
EBSCOHost British Education Index (BEI)
Business Source Complete
CINAHL
ERIC
MEDLINE(Ebsco)
SocINDEX
Proquest Arts & Humanities Fulltext
PsycINFO
OVID EMBASE
MEDLINE