Alumni & Associate Library Members: Open Access Resources
What is grey literature?
Definitions of grey literature vary, but it is generally accepted to mean any literature that is not formally published in conventional and established formats.
Some examples of grey literature include:
|
|
|
Challenges of using grey literature
Searching for grey literature can be a time-consuming process, as you may need to search in many different places to find relevant material which may be difficult to locate and access. This makes searching grey literature systematically a challenging process.
Depending on your topic and available time, you may decide to search all or a limited range of grey literature.
You will also have to carefully assess the quality and validity of the information located when searching this type of material.
How to search for grey literature
Methods of searching for grey literature may include:
- Grey literature database searches e.g. Zetoc, OpenGrey, Scopus, Ethos etc.
- Web searches
- Hand-searching
- Targeted searching, e.g. relevant organisations
- Correspondence with field experts
Example sources of grey literature
EThOS
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
OAlster
Catalog of millions of records representing open access resources from open access collections worldwide. OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
OpenDOAR
Directory of academic open access repositories. Search for the full-text of material held in open access repositories listed in the Directory using 'Search Repository Contents', or use OpenDOAR to find repositories or groups of repositories that fit particular needs using our 'Find' facility.
OpenGrey
Open access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.
PROSPERO
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.