Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education

A guide to using the library resources for Education students

Education Library Guide

Before you begin...

guarantee, ribbon, warranty, quality, badge iconAs you can see from the options below, there are various different sources of educational research content available.  Take a moment to consider which sources will fit your current research need the best:

Resources for Education

Print Books

image of a bookThe easiest way to find a book is to search on Primo. Type in the author's name, title of the book or search by keywords. Limiting your search to books, journal titles etc from the drop down menu will help narrow down your results.

Make a note of the class number so you can find the book on the shelf.

You may also wish to browse the shelves but remember that not all books will be in the same location as some will be relevant to other subjects too.

Where to find books in the Library

The Education books are mostly to be found on Level 2 of the Library.  The Dewey decimal classification numbers for education subjects are:

  • 370 Education
  • 371 School management; special education; alternative education
  • 372 Primary/Elementary education
  • 373 Secondary education
  • 374 Adult education
  • 375 Curriculum
  • 378 Higher education
  • 379 Government regulation, control, support

Check out our tutorial on the Dewey Decimal classification 

eBooks

image of an ebook readerAs well as physical books the Library also has a number of ebooks.  Whilst ebooks are designed to be read online you can save/download sections (within copyright guidelines) and occasionally you will be able to download books for a either a 1-day 'check out' or sometimes permanent download to keep (this depends on the publisher). 

 

How to find ebooks

Search Primo (title/author recommended) and limit to 'full text online'.  Or, see the direct links to ebook collections below:

Journal articles: journal publisher websites

image of a journal articleTo find the most up to date research you will need to search for research papers, often published within academic journals. Sometimes your lecturer may suggest a particular journal. Often journals may have a particular focus e.g. British journal of Special Education so articles will have a focus on learning difficulties and inclusion so can be very useful when you are looking at a particular topic. 

 

 

How to find journals and articles

 

  • Follow links in your module reading lists
  • Look up the title of a journal in Primo e.g. Journal of  Adventure Education & Outdoor Learning and follow the link to browse within
  • Search across a publisher of lots of journals e.g. Taylor & Francis using the link below
  • Search a database (see next tab) which hold millions of articles from many different publishers of journals

 

Useful Journals

PIoE Journals reading list

 

What are journals?

Check out this short video for more information on what a journal is                                     Check out this short tutorial on using journals

                        

Journal articles: Databases
icon to represent a database

Databases include books, journal and magazine articles and conference proceedings. As well as general databases there are also subject specific databases helping to ensure your search is more relevant. You may also consider looking at particular collections of journals. These databases are indexes -where we subscribe to the full text a link will be available but please note these tools search outside of our full text collections and not every hit will be full text.  

To search for relevant articles simply type in your keywords (see choosing your keywords in education for help choosing these). 

Which databases to use for Educational Research

What is a database?

This short animation explains what a database is                                                    This short video explains what a library database is                                                       

School Experience Collection

bookshelf of colorful booksIf you are training to teach, you can use the School Experience Collection: books and teaching materials for use with primary and secondary pupils.  The collection has been assembled for over 40 years and includes some items of historical interest.  Some of the collection is used to support modules on children’s literature, including a collection of picture books. 

If you are going on placement, you will need to be able to find materials to take with you to support your teaching and also the school which may not have a library.   

 

The aims of this guide are:

  • to help you become more effective in finding materials for school experience

  • to be aware of what other material in the library can support school experience

  • to find cross curricular resources for school experience

Other resources for lesson plans and classroom activities:

TV recordings and where to find them

BoB, Box of Broadcasts · Learning on Screen  The library holds a very small amount of DVDs which are kept on the shelves alongside the 
  books however most recordings of TV programmes can now be accessed online via BoB: 

Newspapers

image of a newspaperNewspapers are great for up to date topical or local opinions on events. However it is important to remember that newspapers are written for profit so will use attention grabbing headlines and are often factually incorrect. Often papers have a political affiliation and this may bias their interpretation of events. As newspapers are aimed at the general public the coverage is usually too shallow for academic purposes. 

So always verify information found in a newspaper article.  

Currently you can search back issues of newspapers, including local papers, through a database called Lexis ('news' tab). The Times Educational Supplement is also available here.

Websites for Education

Google iconThere is a wealth of information available on the web and some of this may be useful for your assignments.  You can search for websites using a search engine such as Google or Bing however often this can overwhelm you with results. To improve your results think about the using the advanced search settings - you can specify words to include/ exclude and limit by type of website. Some good Google search tutorials are available on LinkedIn Learning.

 

 

Reports and statistics/data websites

Teaching resources on the web

Education Organisation websites

Using sources: advice on how to integrate sources into your writing