Education
Databases
Databases include books, journal and magazine articles and conference proceedings. As well as general databases there are also subject specific databases helping to ensure your search is more relevant. You may also consider looking at particular collections of journals. These databases are indexes - where we subscribe to the full text a link will be available but please note these tools search outside of our full text collections and not every hit will be full text.
To search for relevant articles simply type in your keywords
Education Databases
-
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
A key index of British journal articles, it covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education including special needs. Alternative URL: https://www.ebsco.com/
-
Education Research Index This link opens in a new window
Education Research Index combines ERIC, the leading education research database produced by the U.S. Department of Education, with the new Supplemental Education Index, which was created to expand upon the current scope of ERIC. Together, they offer journal articles, reports, documents, books, all indexed with the ERIC vocabulary for a unified search experience.
-
Faculti.net (Education) This link opens in a new window The Faculti Platform is an important reference tool which gives users instant access to relevant and up-to-date academic and professional research insights. This continually expanding media library of news, analysis, facts and figures includes insights from The United Nations, the British Parliament, the Bank of England, the Federal Reserve, Harvard University, Stanford University, MIT, University of Oxford, University of Cambridge and 1000's of academic and research institutions worldwide.
-
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSubject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Alternative URL: https://www.ebsco.com/
-
InterED This link opens in a new windowLesson plan ideas, news, reports and features for teachers and education professionals working in early years, primary and secondary education. Alternative URL: https://www.magonlinelibrary.com/page/collections/intered
Further Databases for Educational Research
-
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowProduced by NISC providing references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Alternative URL: https://www.ebsco.com/
-
SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowFull-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many subjects including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also covers elements of international relations and world politics.
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe key index to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, covering 1967 to the present day. Alternative URL: https://www.proquest.com/psycinfo
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowCovers international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities
-
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary journal publisher. URL: http://journals.sagepub.com
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMajor research database of the worlds top Science & Technology journals and conference proceedings with some additional Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities coverage
What is a Database?
This short animation explains what a database is This short video explains what a library database is
